shoppe forum gallery chat classes blog newsletter contact calendar getting started facebook today\'s posts tutorials

Thread: Word Art color

Word Art color

Please keep in mind I'm a beginner.
    I've added word art to a page, but want to change its color.
    How do I do that? I changed some with the paint bucket tool, but when I try to click on smaller words, it changes all of my background color.
    Must be an easier way I don't know. Can anyone help?
    Christina

Several tools can help you do this, depending on software. What are you using?

Generally, you don't want to just paint over or pour over all the pixels to change color of an object, as that will obliterate the color nuances (shading, highlighting, etc.) in the object. You can use a color replacement brush, color replacement tool, or use colorize in the adjustment of color.

In the case of wordart, it is flat, so it's ok to paint over or pour over the pixels. You just have to lock the transparent pixels of that layer first, so painting and pouring will affect only the "type". Or, first select the non-transparent pixels of the layer by control-clicking (Command-click on a Mac) the layer's thumbnail in the layer window (assuming you're using Photoshop or Elements). Then paint or pour with your new color.

Hope this helps!

I'm using PSE 6.0
    Christina

Another way I change the color or feel of word art is to create a new layer on top of the word art and either fill that layer with the paint bucket tool, but more often I drag a paper I like to the layer, and then clip that to the word art.
    If it still looks flat, I might go to Adjustments, and colorize it using the slider tool.

sometimes duplicating the layering and adjusting the blend modes will also give a cool effect -- color burn, soft light, luminosity -- all depends on what you like.