PDA

View Full Version : Using Glitter?



33bells
11-25-2012, 11:45 AM
I don't know if this is the right forum, but if there is a tutorial could someone link me to it? Or give a lesson here. I have "boxes of glitter" in kits, that seem to be styles, but have no idea how to use them.
Thanks for any help!

vicki23
11-25-2012, 11:50 AM
You need to install the styles in your program software first. What do you use? If you use Photoshop they are easy to install, PSE it is a little more complicated.

33bells
11-25-2012, 02:48 PM
I use PS 5. Have for years, but haven't gotten into styles. So many things in PS I still haven't delved into.

vicki23
11-25-2012, 02:51 PM
You need to install the style into the style preset folder. On a Mac you can just double click on the style and it will add it into the style palette. Then I add it into CS5 preset style folder. On a windows operating system I can't remember if it is the same.

33bells
11-25-2012, 02:58 PM
Using a Windows System, Vicki. I can try the double click. I'm wondering when I get it into styles, do you make a selection and then use the style on the selection; or on the whole page? I really need to dig out one of my PS books and read about Styles!
Thanks for replying!
Peggy

vicki23
11-25-2012, 03:48 PM
To use them, once installed, say you had a flourish you would just have it open and selected in the layer palette, the style you want to apply...I did a screen shot for you.

http://i657.photobucket.com/albums/uu297/vicki23_01/ScreenShot2012-11-26at104155AM.png

33bells
11-26-2012, 03:58 AM
Got it! It was easy now that I know how. Just drag the glitter style into the styles in the PS program and it shows up after a restart of PS. Click and it applies to whatever is selected. Probably the whole page if nothing is selected.

Thanks so much, Vickie!

Darlene Currie
11-26-2012, 09:00 AM
You do have to "load" your style once you've got it in your styles preset folder. There is a "flyout" arrow on the top right of your styles palette and if you hold it another "flyout" menu comes up and you go do "load styles". There you go to your styles folder and load the extra styles that you want to use. The styles that are in your palette now are the "default" styles.

33bells
11-26-2012, 11:25 AM
Mine showed up along with the default styles, but they are also in the list of styles to load. I loaded them all and saved under a "glitter" preset. Will have to be careful now that I don't get carried away and start getting addicted to styles. :)

vicki23
11-26-2012, 01:38 PM
Glad you got it worked out, Darlene explained it much better than me..lol

LBollengier
01-04-2013, 06:53 AM
Can you guys tell me more??? :twitcy:I was so hoping this thread would help out a PSE10 person, is it really much more difficult to use these there? I'm slightly over beginner....

Darlene Currie
01-04-2013, 09:10 AM
I'm a Photoshop user Linda, so I'm not too sure about Elements. I know there are a lot of similarities, but I don't want to steer you wrong. Perhaps a PSE user can pop in and give you a hand. Have you tried a "google" search. I quite often find answers just by doing that.

donakat
01-05-2013, 03:02 PM
Here's just one site with explicit directions for doing this:
http://digitalscrapper.com/forums/showthread.php?5647-Install-Layer-Styles-in-Photoshop-Elements-9-or-10%97Win