PDA

View Full Version : Two questions concerning layouts made with PSE 6

deblynn 53
06-07-2009, 04:07 PM
Hi,

I'm new to digital scrapbooking and just made my first layout using PSE 6 on my Mac. After saving my files, first my layered .psd, then my flattened jpeg version, I have a couple of questions:

1. I'm wondering if every time I click on the jpeg version of my layout, should it be opening right on my desktop like any other jpeg would, or will it only open in PSE? Right now it's only opening in PSE, and that seems weird to me. I'm thinking that once a layout is finished and converted to jpeg it should become independent of PSE. Correct? If so, what did I do wrong to keep it connected to PSE?

2. I'm also wondering if .psd files are supposed to be HUGE? My finished .psd file of my first layout that was made using a Quick Page and just one photo, is between 60 and 70 megabytes! WOW!! That seems HUGE to me! Is it supposed to be that HUGE? If not, what did I do wrong?

Thanks in advance for any answers... Debbie :confused1:

donakat
06-07-2009, 04:49 PM
Debbie,
The jpg files will open in whatever app you specify is the default. In the Finder window, right-click on a file (if you have a 2-button mouse), or just control-click the one button till a contextual menu comes up. Choose "open with" and then the appropriate application. You can say to choose Preview for jpgs as that is an easy way to view them without going to the time and RAM commitment of opening Photoshop.